Ananth Kumar

Ananth Kumar

Introduction :

Ananth Kumar is 62 years old Loksabha MP, elected from of state as a member of Party. Ananth Kumar was born to Shri H.N. Narayana Sastry & Smt. Girija N. Sastry and is married to Smt. Tejaswini A.. He/She has 2 daughter(s)

Background information of Ananth Kumar:

A law graduate, Kumar made his foray into politics at the age of 16 in 1975 when he joined the JP movement against the Emergency and was jailed. Active in the student movement, he was general secretary of the State unit of the ABVP and was nominated as the State convenor of the Save Assam Movement in 1982. In 1985, he became the national secretary of the ABVP, from where he graduated directly into the BJP.

More information
Participated in J.P. Movement against Emergency Rule in India, 1975-77
detained for about 40 days
Founder President, Aerospace Museum Society, Bangalore, April, 1999
State Convenor, (i) Save Assam Movement, Karnataka, 1983
(ii) International Youth Year, 1985
and (iii) R.S.S. sponsored Drought Relief Committee, Karnataka, 1986
Organiser, State and national level conferences and study camps
Convenor for many state and university level agitations
Member, (i) Central Silk Board, 1996-97
(ii) Governing Council, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 1996-98 and 2004-09
(iii) Infrastructure Task Force, November 1988
(iv) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to UNESCO
(v) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to China
(vi) Press Council of India, 16 June, 2010 onwards
and (vi) Indian-Portugal Parliamentary Friendship Group, 29 July, 2010 onwards
Vice-President, The Council Of World Affairs, 7 May, 2010 onwards
Party Name
Assets ( In Rupees)More than 4 Crore(s)
Permanent AddressNo. 84, Shashwati, Ranoji Rao Road,Basavanagudi, Bangalore - 560 004, Karnataka
Delhi Address26, Tughlak Crescent, New Delhi - 110 011
Email address
1982-85Secretary, Akhil Bharatiya Vidhyarathi Parishad (A.B.V.P.), Karnataka
1985-87National Secretary, A.B.V.P.
1987-88Secretary, Bharatiya Janata Party (B.J.P.), Karnataka
1988-95General Secretary, B.J.P., Karnataka
1995 -98National Secretary, B.J.P.
1996Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
1996-97Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Industry;Member, Standing Committee, Ministry of Railways
1998Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
Mar. 1998- Oct. 1999Union Cabinet Minister, Civil Aviation
Jan. 1999-Oct. 1999Additional charge, Ministry of Tourism
1999Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
13 Oct. 1999 - 2 Feb. 2000Union Cabinet Minister, Culture, Youth Affairs and Sports
2 Feb. 2000 - 1 Sep. 2001Union Cabinet Minister, Tourism and Culture
1 Sep. 2001- Jul. 2003Union Cabinet Minister, Urban Development & Poverty Alleviation with additional charge of Rural Development
26 Jun. 2003President, Bharatiya Janata Party, Karnataka
2004Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
Aug. 2004 - 8 Mar. 2007Chairman, Committee on Coal & Steel;Member, General Purposes Committee
1 Nov. 2004 onwardsNational General Secretary, Bharatiya Janata Party
2005Member, Joint Committee on Office of Profit
9 Mar. 2007 Chairman, Committee on Finance
Mar. 2007 Member, Business Advisory Committee
2009Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
31 Aug. 2009 - 5 May 2010Chairman, Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers
23 Sep. 2009Member, Committee of Privileges;Member, Rules Committee
7 May 2010Chairman, Committee on External Affairs
Notice! The message in this form will not be forwarded to Ananth Kumar . Use the form below to post your review or comment and discuss about Ananth Kumar as a community.

Post your comment on Ananth Kumar

Recent Election Results

advertise on website